Sacrament Strand-Hakarameta

These are derived from investigation of the theological focus, the strand progressions over 8 years and what we believe are the key ideas our year 8 leavers will need to know and understand by the time they leave St Joseph's.  Our selection of the key ideas is guided by our understanding of the Nicene Creed, the founding belief statement of the Catholic faith dating back to the Council of Nicea in AD325; Biblical teaching; Church tradition; and the Catechism of the Catholic church which the original RE curriculum documents are based on.

Key Ideas

1. There are 7 sacraments - Baptism, Reconciliation, Eucharist, Confirmation, Marriage, Holy Orders, and Anointing of the Sick
2. Each sacrament has its own symbols and rituals
3. Sacraments are a sign of God’s grace in the world and in us.
4. Sacraments relate to your life journey (te wa)


Test for the Sacrament Strand – Year 4-8

What are the seven sacraments and what are some of their symbols?








Explain how sacraments are connected to a person’s life journey (te wa)

What is your understanding of grace and how does grace relate to sacraments?

Marking Year 4-8 

1. Name the 7 sacraments 1 point for each

2. Each sacrament has its own symbols and rituals
    Give the symbols for each sacrament (1 point for each of the two first correct ones)

3. Sacraments are a sign of God’s grace in the world and in us.
     3 points - attempt made to explain grace and sacrament
     5 points - meaning of a symbol is explained and related to God's presence
     10 points - explanation of grace in relation to the sacraments

4. Sacraments relate to your life journey (te wa)
    3 points - sacrament connected to a time of life
    5 points - explanation of how sacrament helps make a life experience sacred
   10 points - explanation of how sacraments keep us connected with God throughout our life journey.

Assessment for years 1-3 Sacrament Strand

Assessment is not a test - it is based on observations, discussions and classroom activities.

1. Name the 7 sacraments - only Baptism expected, 1 point (plus 1 more for any others)

2. Each sacrament has its own symbols and rituals - 1 point for each symbol of Baptism shown

3. Sacraments are a sign of God's grace in the world and in us - HOLINESS
    3 points - able to describe some symbols and rituals which help us to feel closer to God.
    5 points - Spontaneously notice things in their day to day lives that they can identify as holy (e.g. a     book is holy because it helps us to read, learn and grow.

4.  Sacraments relate to your life journey (te wa)
    3 points - able to give several examples of ways of making people feel welcome
    5 points - Connect welcoming with the rituals and purpose of Baptism




Year One - Holiness

Holy times, places and objects are holy because they remind us of GodPeople can discover God and God’s holiness in the world which is God’s gift to people to enjoy and care for.Ways of doing things (rituals) everyday and in the Church.

Year Five - Anointing of the Sick

How Jesus identified with people who need healing in mind, body and soul and how the Sacrament of Penance brings healingThe Sacrament of AnointingSacraments bring grace for all of the Christian lifeParticipation in the Eucharist

Year Two - Baptism

Baptism is a special meeting with Jesus when people are welcomed into the ChurchThe rite, the rituals and symbols of BaptismBaptism makes people holy and is a symbol of cleansingBaptism helps people share in the life of the TrinityBaptism helps people share in God’s holiness - tapu and mana

Year Six - Confirmation

The meaning of Sacrament in the lives of CatholicsThe rituals, symbols, rites and purpose of the Sacraments of InitiationThe rituals, symbols, rite and purpose of the Sacrament of ConfirmationThe Celebration of the Eucharist as a Sacrifice

Year Three - Reconciliation

The  Sacrament of Penance restores friendship with God and othersPeople receive forgiveness and healing and peace through Jesus by recognising their sins and saying sorry in the Sacrament of PenanceThe important parts of the Rite of the Sacrament of PenanceUnderstanding what personal sin is, taking responsibility for it and expressing sorrowUnderstanding what healing and growth means and how the Sacrament of Penance helps thisSin violates tapu and causes hurt to others and this is restored by reconciliationThrough the Sacrament of Penance people make peace with God and with each otherTimes of praying for forgiveness and saying sorry during the celebration of the Eucharist

Year Seven - Holy Orders

The meaning of Sacraments in the life of the churchThe ritual, symbol, rite and purpose of the Sacrament of Holy OrdersThe Eucharist as strength to go out and serve othersThe blessed and broken experiences of life

Year Four - Eucharist

Recognising signs of God’s presence through reflective timesCompare everyday rituals with those of Sacraments – the greatest signs of God’s presenceThe Eucharist is a Sacred MealThe Bread and Wine is changed into the Body and Blood of Jesus Christ through the Holy SpiritEucharist increases God’s tapu and mana in people

Year Eight - Marriage

The Vocation of MarriageThe meaning of the Sacrament of MarriageThe ritual, symbol and the Rite of the Sacrament of MarriageThe commitment of living the Christian lifeThe Eucharist as Holy Communion

No comments:

Post a Comment